March Library: Civics: Action Project: Jobs/Training

Databases

Keywords to consider:

jobs
"job market"
"job training"
employment
unemployment
careers
"career counseling"
internships
apprenticeships

Use quotation marks to limit results to exact phrases. You can also add in geographic keywords like "Alexandria, VA," or "Northern Virginia," or "Washington, DC," but be aware that doing so may limit your search too much.

March Library databases to search:

ABC-Clio Issues
This database helps students develop an in-depth understanding of how society shapes and is shaped by controversy, providing authoritative historical context, expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources on today's most important issues.
Access World News Research Collection
Provides primary sources from thousands of global sources including content in 15 languages, including Spanish. Key word searching and suggested searches support critical thinking and classroom activities. This resource brings real world events to classroom learning. Includes access to the Alexandria Gazette Packet from 2002-present.
Gale in Context: Global Issues
This database offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
ProQuest Global Newsstream
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s. Full text coverage of Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
Statista
Categorized into over 20 market sectors, Statista provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on media, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.

Local Government Sources

How to Contact your Elected Officials

Local Media

Alexandria/Arlington:

Alexandria Gazette Packet (also indexed in Access World News)
Alexandria Times
Alexandria Living
Patch: Old Town Alexandria, VA
SunGazette (Arlington/Fairfax)
ARLnow (also indexed in Access World News)
ALXnow (also indexed in Access World News)
Arlington Magazine
Inside NoVa (Arlington, Fairfax, Prince William, Stafford, Culpeper, Fauquier and Loudoun counties)
WTOP News - Alexandria VA

Washington, DC:

The Washington Post (indexed in ProQuest Global Newsstream)
The Washington Times (also indexed in Access World News)
The Eagle (American University paper; also indexed in Access World News)
Washington City Paper
Washingtonian
WETA (PBS affiliate and Public Radio station)
WJLA (ABC affiliate)
WRC (NBC affiilate)
WTTG (Fox affiliate)
WUSA (CBS affiliate)
WAMU (American University Public Radio)
WTOP (News radio)

Organizations

Alexandria City Workforce Development Center
"The City of Alexandria's Workforce Development Center (WDC), offers staffing solutions that provide businesses with employees who are skilled and ready to work. As a certified One Stop Center, WDC serves a variety of skill levels from those with advanced degrees and many years of experience to those with limited education and work experience."
U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration
"The Employment and Training Administration (ETA) administers federal government job training and worker dislocation programs, federal grants to states for public employment service programs, and unemployment insurance benefits. These services are primarily provided through state and local workforce development systems."
Virginia CareerWorks - Northern Region
"Virginia Career Works – Northern is a team of private and public sector partners who share a common goal-to promote Northern Virginia economic prosperity and long-term growth. The board receives and administers annual Federal Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) dollars that help fund comprehensive employment and training services to area employers, job seekers and youth."