The Civil War Era and Reconstruction
by
Reconstruction Updated Edition
by
The Reconstruction Era
by
The Republic for Which It Stands
by
No Right to an Honest Living (Winner of the Pulitzer Prize)
by
Gotham
by
Nonstop Metropolis
by
The Reconstruction Era
by
The Age of Acrimony
by
Encyclopedia of Southern Culture
by
Southern Reconstruction
by
Splendid Failure
by
Denmark Vesey's Garden
by
The New Negro in the Old South
by
The Free People of Color of New Orleans
by
The Reconstruction Era
by
Unfathomable City
by
The World That Made New Orleans
by
Death in the Haymarket
by
Boom Town
by
Contested Territory
by
The Age of Gold
by
The Oxford History of the American West
by
The Reconstruction Era
by
Infinite City
by
These are wonderful places to search for primary sources, and using your city's name as a keyword should yield some rich results. However, searching in primary source databases can be tricky. Make sure to limit by date, and please ask for help from librarians if you get stuck!
Introduction to U.S. History: Slavery in America is a digital collection of over 600 documents in 75,000 pages selected by Vernon Burton and Troy Smith from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. This collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery in America from its origins in Africa to its abolition, including materials on the slave trade, plantation life, emancipation, pro-slavery and anti-slavery arguments, the religious views on slavery, etc.
This database provides full text access to hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.
Full text coverage of Chicago Tribune (1849 - 2015), Los Angeles Times (1881 - 2016), New York Times (1851 - 2021), Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2013), and Washington Post (1877 - 2008).
Online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage.