"Ethics, copyright laws, and courtesy to readers require authors to identify the sources of direct quotations or paraphrases and of any facts or opinions not generally known or easily checked." (Chicago Manual of Style Online, 13.1)
Citing your sources properly helps you avoid plagiarism, and helps your reader locate the sources you have used. It also allows you to impress your teacher with the wide array of scholarly sources you've consulted!
General Format:
Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Name of Database. URL.
Bibliographic Entry Example:
Keske, Catherine M. “Urban Sprawl: Overview.” Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society. https://issues-abc-clio-
com.ehslibrary.idm.oclc.org/Topics/Display/913458?cid41.
Footnote Example:
1. Catherine M. Keske, “Urban Sprawl: Overview,” Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society, https://issues-abc-clio-
com.ehslibrary.idm.oclc.org/Topics/Display/913458?cid41.
Shortened footnote example:
2. Keske, “Urban Sprawl.”
General Format:
“Entry Title.” In Encyclopedia Title. Publisher, Year of Publication. URL.
Bibliographic Entry:
“Hybrid Vehicles.” In Environmental Encyclopedia. Gale, 2021. link.gale.com/apps/doc/
CV2644150704/GIC?u=alex19401&sid=bookmark-GIC&xid=e159fb68.
Footnote:
1. “Hybrid Vehicles,” In Environmental Encyclopedia, Gale, 2021, link.gale.com/apps/
doc/CV2644150704/GIC?u=alex19401&sid=bookmark-GIC&xid=e159fb68.
Shortened footnote:
2. “Hybrid Vehicles.
General Format:
Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Article Title.” Journal Name Volume, Issue (Date of Publication). URL.
Bibliographic Entry:
Smith, Joe. “Jam Today; Traffic in Megacities.” The Economist 418, no. 8978 (Feb. 27,
2016). https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A450846208/GIC?u=alex19401
&sid=bookmark-GIC&xid=ae5c58af.
Footnote:
1. Joe Smith, “Jam Today; Traffic in Megacities,” The Economist 418, no. 8978 (Feb. 27,
2016): https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A450846208/GIC?u=alex19401&sid=bookmark-
GIC&xid=ae5c58af.
Shortened footnote:
2. Smith, “Jam Today.”
General Format:
Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Article Title.” Magazine Name, Date of
Publication. URL.
Bibliographic Entry:
Beltrame, Julian. “Fouling Our Cities.” Maclean’s, July 29, 2002. https://link.gale.com/
apps/doc/A89436204/GIC?u=alex19401&sid=bookmark-GIC&xid=172c0cee.
Footnote:
1. Julian Beltrame, “Fouling Our Cities,” Maclean’s, July 29, 2002. https://link.gale.com/
apps/doc/A89436204/GIC?u=alex19401&sid=bookmark-GIC&xid=172c0cee.
Shortened footnote:
2. Beltrame, “Fouling Our Cities.”
General Format:
Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Article Title.” Newspaper Name, Date of Publication. URL.
*For newspapers that are not well-known, a city name should be added along with the newspaper title. Additionally, a state abbreviation may be added in parentheses after the city name.
Bibliographic Entry:
Moyer, Justin W. “Section of Va. Highway is Going on a ‘Road Diet’.” Washington Post,
May 9, 2021. https://www.proquest.com/newspapers/section-va-highway-is-going-on-road-diet/
docview/2523919965/se-2?accountid=36788.
Footnote:
1. Justin W. Moyer, “Section of Va. Highway is Going on a ‘Road Diet’.” Washington Post, May 9, 2021, https://www.proquest.com/newspapers/section-va-highway-is-going-on-road-diet/
docview/2523919965/se-2?accountid=36788.
Shortened footnote:
2. Moyer, “Va. Highway ‘Road Diet’.”
General Format:
Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Article Title.” Type of graphic. Date of Publication. Database.
Bibliographic Entry:
Statista. "Artificial Intelligence (AI) Market Size Worldwide from 2020 to 2030 (in Billion U.S. Dollars)." Chart. June 18, 2024. Statista.
Footnote:
1. Statista, "Artificial Intelligence (AI) Market Size Worldwide from 2020 to 2030 (in Billion U.S. Dollars)," chart, June 18, 2024, Statista.
Shortened Footnote:
2. Statista, "Artificial Intelligence," chart.